Book Review: Time Between Us by Tamara Ireland Stone

Time Between UsTitle: Time Between Us

Author: Tamara Ireland Stone

Published: October 9, 2012

Publisher: Hyperion

Pages: 368

Source: Bought from Fully Booked

Synopsis: 

Anna and Bennett were never supposed to meet: she lives in 1995 Chicago and he lives in 2012 San Francisco. But Bennett has the unique ability to travel through time and space, which brings him into Anna’s life, and with him a new world of adventure and possibility.

As their relationship deepens, the two face the reality that time may knock Bennett back to where he belongs, even as a devastating crisis throws everything they believe into question. Against a ticking clock, Anna and Bennett are forced to ask themselves how far they can push the bounds of fate, what consequences they can bear in order to stay together, and whether their love can stand the test of time.

Fresh, exciting, and deeply romantic, Time Between Us is a stunning, spellbinding debut from an extraordinary new voice in YA fiction.

*Image and synopsis from Goodreads

My review:

I will never forget that day when I saw the cover of Time Between Us in a book blog. I was so mesmerized by how dreamy and magical it looked. I can’t stop gazing at it! After reading the captivating synopsis, I told myself “I have to read this.” And I’m glad I did. Up to this moment, the scenes play inside my head like a song on loop. The story never leaves and I don’t think it ever will. This book goes straight to the place where it deserves to be: the treasure chest in my heart. To me, the story is not just a bounded piece of literature; rather, it’s a precious jewel.

Time Between Us is the first time travel book I’ve ever read and I love it to bits! It transported me to a dazzling world where reality and science fiction are perfectly blended together. The experience was INCREDIBLE. Tamara Ireland Stone’s writing style brims with radiant beauty. Gliding over her flawless and enthralling words was such a delight. It was really good to move along the current of soulful thoughts that felt so natural and so real. With clear and colorful descriptions, Time Between Us glows with life. Scenes were brilliantly designed in a neat and organized structure which resulted in a smoothly-paced tale that carried me into a stream of infinite magic and wonder. Time traveling is a complicated idea but in this book, it was so effortlessly illustrated. Each detail was presented one at a time and won’t confuse readers.

So let’s go to the story itself. Anna and Bennett are two teenagers from completely different times. She’s from 1995. He’s from 2012. They are not supposed to meet, but they did. Thanks to Bennett’s awesome time traveling gift. I don’t want to get into detail with the plot because I want to leave some mystery for future readers of this book to discover. Their experience of the story would definitely be memorable if there’s an element of surprise.

Anna and Bennett are believable characters. I fell in love with them in an instant. Anna’s strong-willed personality is what makes her awesome. I greatly admire her courage of taking a “daring adventure” with the guy she loves. And Bennett. Oh, Bennett. Just saying his name brings a smile to my face. He’s sweet, adorable, caring, and very loving. He would do anything to make Anna happy to the point of breaking the rules of his talent.

Another thing I love about Anna and Bennett is their faith. In times of helplessness and pain, faith is what kept them going. It made them stronger and better individuals. With faith, they won their battle with time. They believed in each other, they believed in their love. And most of all, hope glimmered in their hearts.

Time Between Us is a fantastic novel that captures the importance of time. With time as the heartbeat of the story, I realized that every tick of the clock holds precious moments that people ought to treasure.

Truly, Time Between Us is a story of love that that transcends the test of time. I’m so excited to read Time After Time! My heart wishes for October to be NOW. 🙂

Rating:

5/5 stars

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Time Between Us by Tamara Ireland Stone

  1. Hello! Nice review. 🙂 You might as well like The Time Traveler’s Wife. It’s one of my all-time favorites! (since I’m also into time traveling concept hehe)

    xx

Leave a Reply

