Book Review: The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider

13522285Title: The Beginning of Everything

Author: Robyn Schneider

Published: August 27, 2013

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Pages: 335

Source: Copy provided by publisher (Thank you, Harper Collins Publishers!)

Synopsis: 

Golden boy Ezra Faulkner believes everyone has a tragedy waiting for them—a single encounter after which everything that really matters will happen. His particular tragedy waited until he was primed to lose it all: in one spectacular night, a reckless driver shatters Ezra’s knee, his athletic career, and his social life.

No longer a front-runner for Homecoming King, Ezra finds himself at the table of misfits, where he encounters new girl Cassidy Thorpe. Cassidy is unlike anyone Ezra’s ever met, achingly effortless, fiercely intelligent, and determined to bring Ezra along on her endless adventures.

But as Ezra dives into his new studies, new friendships, and new love, he learns that some people, like books, are easy to misread. And now he must consider: if one’s singular tragedy has already hit and everything after it has mattered quite a bit, what happens when more misfortune strikes?

Robyn Schneider’s The Beginning of Everything is a lyrical, witty, and heart-wrenching novel about how difficult it is to play the part that people expect, and how new beginnings can stem from abrupt and tragic endings.

*Image and synopsis from Goodreads

My review:

It has been a while since I last read an insightful and profound novel such as this one. I seriously have no words. I feel like everything I’m going to say won’t encapsulate how great it is. As I’m writing this review, my mind struggles with the perfect words to describe the feelings and overall impeccability of this book.

The story starts with a tragedy, an accident that gave main character Ezra Faulkner’s life a tremendous makeover. He meets Cassidy Thorpe, a girl cloaked in layers of mystery; then, they fall in love. Both characters have very different personalities and the book did an amazing task of stringing their lives together in a very compelling manner. Ezra and Cassidy’s relationship is so lovely and special, generating an infinity pool of feels and a series of flails. I’m sure lots of  readers will squirm with delight as they come across sweet Ezra-Cassidy moments. 🙂

The Beginning of Everything is a novel written with heart. Robyn Schneider’s writing has the power to awaken sleeping logical juices with the magnitude of philosophical words. The opening paragraph struck me like a lightning bolt and with that, I knew I was reading something that I will treasure. Truthfulness shines in every chapter, enlightening me to look beyond myself and ponder over my own tragedies. Reading the book pushed me to examine the way I am right now, hence the thought, “Am I living in a panopticon?” (Note: You’ll understand what I’m saying when you read the book. 🙂 ) The descriptions in the story are so picturesque and I’m charmed by the vibrant and poignant writing style of the author. Honestly I think the book is a deep well of emotions. It’s amazing to free fall into the wondrousness of soulful thoughts. I devoured each word by heart hoping that my soul be stained with the story’s inspiring and beautiful message.

Another thing I find engaging is the main character’s narration. In smooth and stellar prose, the story was told the way people normally converse which establishes a personal connection with readers. The hilarious punch lines balanced out the pensive tone of the novel, making it a great entertaining masterpiece. Lastly, the secondary characters have diverse personalities that injected dynamism into the story.

The Beginning of Everything is an exquisite tale of heartbreak and tragedy. Epitomizing the roller coaster ride of life, readers will experience all kinds of ups and downs as well as see the beauty in everything. I highly recommend this book to those who want a realistic, heartfelt, and witty read.

Rating:

5/5 stars

5 thoughts on “Book Review: The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider

  1. Just bought this book recently and I am so excited to read it! Your review & ate Kate’s instagram photos have moved The Beginning of Everything to the very tippity-top of my TBR list. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Best YA Books of 2013 | THE LIFELONG BOOKWORM

Leave a Reply

