Book Review: My Life After Now by Jessica Verdi

15752348Title: My Life After Now

Author: Jessica Verdi

Published: April 2, 2013

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Pages: 287

Source: Copy provided by publisher (Thank you, Sourcebooks Fire!)

Synopsis: 

Lucy just had the worst week ever. Seriously, mega bad. And suddenly, it’s all too much—she wants out. Out of her house, out of her head, out of her life. She wants to be a whole new Lucy. So she does something the old Lucy would never dream of.

And now her life will never be the same. Now, how will she be able to have a boyfriend? What will she tell her friends? How will she face her family?

Now her life is completely different…every moment is a gift. Because now she might not have many moments left.

*Image and synopsis from Goodreads

My review:

When I received a review copy of My Life After Now, I was so ecstatic because I’ve been dying to read it since I first heard about it. Holding the copy in my hands and ogling at the stunning cover sent flickers of excitement all over my body. To be honest, I really didn’t have any idea what the book is about. The synopsis is a very good tease! It only gave simple yet intriguing details of the book without exposing its very core. So yeah, the synopsis did a great job in rousing my interest to unmask the mystery behind the alluring cover and catchy title.

The book started out light, giving a clear insight on who Lucy (the main character) is. The opening lines welcomed me right into Lucy’s world: theater. My heart jumped at the sight of the words drama, auditions, and Romeo and Juliet because theater is currently my world. I’m not a performer, by the way. I’m a writer at the theater company of the school I attended for college. But still, Lucy and I are on the same boat so I was very thrilled to read a story situated in the same environment. So that was just an introduction of Lucy’s character.

The real story begins one night when Lucy committed a mistake that stained her whole being. She cannot turn back the time to undo it. Lucy’s life was turned upside down and she couldn’t do anything but to accept the consequence of her irresponsible action.

My initial thought of the book was that it’s about self-discovery and making a difference in one’s self. It seemed like that to me during the first nine chapters of the story. But as I plunged into chapters 10 to 39, everything about My Life After Now is more than its surface. The stunning cover is just a glamorous mask for the big, serious issue that the whole book encloses—a sensitive one, even. The issue took me by surprise, I really did not expect it to be something major, but I was very impressed by how Jessica Verdi presented it in the story. As much as I want to reveal what major issue My Life After Now is centered at, I’m holding back that information because I want potential readers to experience the shock and drown in the whirlpool of ineffable emotions that this book will cause.

Lucy is an exceptional character. I appreciated her from the very start. Although she is annoying and stubborn at times, I still like Lucy’s character. She’s a sensible girl who is very easy to connect with. I like the way she thinks—earnest and profound. The supporting characters are noticeable as well. Lucy’s dads are beyond incredible for the overflowing love and support they have given her. They were Lucy’s strength. Max and Courtney, Lucy’s best friends, are both reliable and true. Even if their friendship went through a rough time, they still cared for each other immensely. Then there’s Roxie. She is in Lucy’s support group and a character I admire. Roxie is the light that Lucy needed to push away the darkness that surrounds herself. Roxie inspired Lucy to keep moving forward and not to worry about the things that could happen. Lastly, there’s Evan whom I think is the best thing that happened to Lucy. He understood Lucy and loved her for all that she is in spite of what she’s going through. Lucy is lucky to have a guy like Evan whose goodness extends past the walls of his heart.

My Life After Now is a remarkable novel about living life with faith amid a difficult time. I commend Jessica Verdi for writing the story beautifully. She has a way with words that takes readers along a smooth ride in an engaging and deeply felt manner. It was such a pleasure reading words that touched my heart in extraordinary ways. This book left me with an important realization that life is meaningful if we learn to live in the moment. Appreciate the NOW!

Rating:

4.5/5 stars

Favorite quotes from the book:

“I might not be Juliet, but that didn’t mean I couldn’t still be great.”

“But how do you play the role of yourself when “yourself” no longer exists?”

2 thoughts on “Book Review: My Life After Now by Jessica Verdi

Leave a Reply

