ARC Review: Time After Time by Tamara Ireland Stone

17393023Title: Time After Time

Author: Tamara Ireland Stone

Publication date: October 8, 2013

Publisher: Disney-Hyperion

Pages: 368

Source: e-ARC provided by publisher via Net Galley (Thank you, Disney-Hyperion!)

Synopsis: 

Calling Anna and Bennett’s romance long distance is an understatement: she’s from 1995 Chicago and he’s a time traveler from 2012 San Francisco. The two of them never should have met, but they did. They fell in love, even though they knew they shouldn’t. And they found a way to stay together, against all odds.

It’s not a perfect arrangement, though, with Bennett unable to stay in the past for more than brief visits, skipping out on big chunks of his present in order to be with Anna in hers. They each are confident that they’ll find a way to make things work…until Bennett witnesses a single event he never should have seen (and certainly never expected to). Will the decisions he makes from that point on cement a future he doesn’t want?

Told from Bennett’s point of view, Time After Time will satisfy readers looking for a fresh, exciting, and beautifully-written love story, both those who are eager to find out what’s next for Time Between Us’s Anna and Bennett and those discovering their story for the first time.

*Image and synopsis from Goodreads

My review: 

Organizing my thoughts has always been my predicament whenever I write reviews for books that mean a lot to me. Time After Time is no exception. The beauty of its entirety reached far beyond my expectations and carried me away to a world where love infinitely exists through time, space, and everything in between. This lovely piece of literature has undoubtedly earned a special place on my shelf of favorite books.

Reading Time After Time is a splendid fictional experience. I got to know more about Bennett in this book—his life in 2012, his family, his friends, being a time traveler, and his love for Anna. Bennett’s voice is so authentic and very engaging. His thoughts, as gracefully written by Tamara Ireland Stone, filled my heart with so much emotion. I actually ran out of words to describe how wonderful his thoughts are. I felt every single emotion that Bennett went through. All the love, care, and sweetness made my insides flutter in all directions while the confusions, worries, and struggles splintered my heart into a million tiny pieces.

It was amazing to witness Anna and Bennett’s characters evolve into stronger individuals. Both are willing to take risks, fearlessly fighting for their love. There were lots of swoon-worthy moments in Time After Time that made me smile for days. Anna and Bennett are extraordinary as a couple. Having said that, I’ll forever be a fan of their love story.

What I also liked was Bennett’s close relationship with his older sister Brooke. In Time Between Us, Brooke was in the background as she is just mentioned by Bennett once in a while. But here, she actually played a supporting role. I think Brooke is really cool and her support for Bennett is priceless. Bennett’s bonding moments with his dad was another thing I admired. It showed how much they are alike in taking on a daring adventure.

The turning point in the book was when Bennett saw something that made him doubt his and Anna’s relationship as well as their future. The chapter succeeding that scene was a heartbreaking one. If you could only see my notes about that incident, well, it’s brimming with exclamation points. 🙂 After four chapters, I was staring blankly into space following the last line. Disbelieving that I was at the end of the story, I went back to the beginning of the last chapter and reveled in it with all my heart.

Time After Time proves that true love is worth every risk. It left me with the sweetest embrace of a love story that will last until the end of time. Tamara Ireland Stone concluded the series with a satisfying, heartwarming ending.

Rating:

5/5 stars

 

Favorite quotes  from the book:

“There’s no reason for a picture of me if you’re not in it.”

“It’s always harder to be the one who’s left behind than the one who leaves.”

“I told you before. I’ll keep coming back until you’re sick of me.”

“Can you stop talking now so I can kiss you?”

“I never even wished for her, but right now, all I want is for this person who gets me so completely to be part of my present and my future.”

“Do you have any idea how much I hate being there without you?”

“I was convinced that I wasn’t supposed to be part of your future but I think now…that I am.”

“That smile. My smile. It belongs to me again.”

“I’m not supposed to be here. But I am.”

3 thoughts on “ARC Review: Time After Time by Tamara Ireland Stone

  1. Pingback: Best YA Books of 2013 | THE LIFELONG BOOKWORM

  2. Pingback: “Time” is now bendy…

Leave a Reply

