ARC Review: These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

These Broken StarsTitle: These Broken Stars (Starbound #1)

Authors: Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Publication date: December 10, 2013

Publisher: Disney-Hyperion

Pages: 374

Source: e-ARC provided by publisher via NetGalley (Thanks, Cassie!)

Purchase the book:  Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Book Depository / Fully Booked 

Synopsis: 

It’s a night like any other on board the Icarus. Then, catastrophe strikes: the massive luxury spaceliner is yanked out of hyperspace and plummets into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive. And they seem to be alone.

Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a young war hero who learned long ago that girls like Lilac are more trouble than they’re worth. But with only each other to rely on, Lilac and Tarver must work together, making a tortuous journey across the eerie, deserted terrain to seek help.

Then, against all odds, Lilac and Tarver find a strange blessing in the tragedy that has thrown them into each other’s arms. Without the hope of a future together in their own world, they begin to wonder—would they be better off staying here forever?

Everything changes when they uncover the truth behind the chilling whispers that haunt their every step. Lilac and Tarver may find a way off this planet. But they won’t be the same people who landed on it.

A timeless love story, THESE BROKEN STARS sets into motion a sweeping science fiction series of companion novels. The Starbound Trilogy: Three worlds. Three love stories. One enemy.

*Photo and synopsis from Goodreads

My review:

One of the reasons why I love reading science fiction is the sense of adventure and wonder it awakens in me. I like the way it allows my mind to explore the beauty of science in a fictional landscape. Science fiction makes me think outside of my shell and challenges me to see what extraordinary is all about. 

These Broken Stars is a remarkable tale of love, sacrifice, survival, and hope. It is YA science fiction at its utmost perfection. I went on a voyage across the universe between the pages of this book and I must say, it is phenomenal.

When I read the first chapter, I instantly knew that These Broken Stars will earn a spot in my “best books of 2013” list. The plot is brilliant and very unpredictable. Readers, you are in for surprises and twists! One never knows what will happen next and that’s one element I look for in a story. If a story has that, then it is fantastic and unputdownable.

I’m also impressed with the storytelling of this book as it generates great suspense, mystery, and curiosity. It coaxed out all kinds of emotions from my heart with every turn of the page. I felt broken, happy, sad, terrified, and in love. I floated in an infinite space of zero gravity, reveling in the magnificence of the story. My heart pounded with every tension-inducing situation the characters were in and I held my breath every time. It was totally mind-blowing! 

Beautifully written, These Broken Stars whisked me away from Earth and hauled me into a bizarre world. I can’t find the words to explain how different and spectacular this fictional world is from other books. But one thing I can say is that it’s very special. The story lingered in my head even after the final scene. I couldn’t start reading a new book because I wasn’t ready yet to go back to reality. I wanted to stay longer so I could explore what else the world of These Broken Stars has in store for me. A story like this really makes me wish that fictional places exist in real life. 

The main characters, Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen, are well developed. They have distinctive qualities that regard them noteworthy. These Broken Stars is told in alternate POVs of Lilac and Tarver. I love their fresh, engaging, and honest voices. 

Lilac and Tarver’s story starts when they meet in the gigantic spaceliner, Icarus. Both characters come from different classes of society. Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe; while, Tarver is a young war hero who comes from a simple family. Then disaster strikes. The Icarus crashes into an unknown planet and Tarver and Lilac were the only ones who survived. Things didn’t go well between them at first. They were always bickering and trying to annoy each other. Soon, strange things start to happen and Lilac and Tarver have to trust each other in order to stay safe. 

As the story goes on, Lilac and Tarver fall in love. For me, their falling in love is the sweetest I have ever encountered. It was amazing to witness the spark between them ignite into flames slowly and passionately. Their chemistry is undeniable. It burns with love, faith, devotion, and understanding that is so genuine from the inside and out. Love is what propelled Lilac and Tarver to live and to survive, not only for their families but also for each other. The love that blossomed between them in the face of adversity became their strength and hope. 

This story will leave readers the message that love, trust, and determination transcend even the toughest circumstances in life.  

These Broken Stars is a breathtaking novel that undoubtedly redefines the beauty and thrill of science fiction. Definitely a MUST-READ for all sci-fi fans!

Rating:

5/5 stars

5 thoughts on “ARC Review: These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

  1. AHHHH THIS BOOK SOUNDS SO GOOD!!! Great review, Jesselle! Now I want to pick up These Broken Stars even with the massive tbr pile on my shelf.

  2. Pingback: Story Soundtrack: These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner - Stay Bookish

  3. Pingback: Best YA Books of 2013 | THE LIFELONG BOOKWORM

  4. Pingback: ARC Review: This Shattered World by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner | THE LIFELONG BOOKWORM

Leave a Reply

