Book Review: Blindsided by Natalie Whipple

BlindsidedTitle: Blindsided (Transparent, #2) 

Author: Natalie Whipple 

Publication date: January 2, 2014 

Publisher: Hot Key Books

Pages: 330 

Source: Finished copy provided by publisher (Thank you, Hot Key Books!)

Purchase the book: Amazon / Book Depository / Hot Key Books

Synopsis: 

Three months after Fiona escapes from her father’s syndicate, all seems well in her tiny town of Madison, Arizona. She and Seth are happy together – apart from the teensy fact of Fiona being jealous that Seth can see through her invisibility – and her family and friends are safe. But when the local syndicate and even the Army show up, it’s clear there’s more going on in town than she could ever imagine. It seems like these huge powers are interested in the old Radiasure factory – could they be reproducing the infamous drug that caused mutations? – and everyone suspects Fiona of knowing more than she should. As Fiona and her friends try to cover their tracks, they discover that they do have some dangerous knowledge. Though at first determined to stop anyone from remaking Radiasure, Fiona learns a secret that could change everything, including her invisibility. Torn between her own desires and the greater good, Fiona might be too blindsided to see the real villain coming.

*Photo and synopsis from Goodreads

My review:

After reading the last sentence in Transparent, I strongly felt that there’s a lot more to be explored in its unique world. I was so ecstatic when I learned that there’s going to be a sequel! Blindsided immediately became part of my 2014 TBR list. But waiting to read the sequels of books we love feels like a million years, doesn’t it? So I would like to thank the amazing Hot Key Books for sending me an early copy. 🙂

Blindsided. Wow. Natalie Whipple crafted a thrilling roller coaster ride of a story that amazed me in so many ways. All the intense situations, action-packed scenes, and unexpected twists pushed me to the edge of my seat. My heartbeat skipped along with every gasp that escaped my lips. The mystery and suspense surrounding the story made me feel like I was watching a crime/action movie the whole time I was reading! Each chapter ended with a cliffhanger or a string of questions that prompted my fingers to turn the next page.

In Blindsided, readers are carried back to Madison, Arizona, where main character Fiona and her mother appear to live a normal life. I appreciated Fiona in this book because she truly grew as a character. She is braver and better this time.

The significance of family is one of the things I loved in Transparent. I’m so happy that it still plays a huge part in the sequel. It was good to see Fiona’s mom fulfill the duties of a doting mother—taking care of her children and prioritizing their safety. Fiona’s brothers, Miles and Graham, are totally noteworthy. Miles has been the affectionate and watchful brother since Transparent. He’ll always be one of my favorite fictional brothers! Graham, on the other hand, surprised me a lot. It’s as if his bad reputation burned to the ground and a new Graham emerged from the ashes. I think the Graham portrayed in Blindsided is the real Graham—a devoted and concerned son and brother.

Fiona and her boyfriend Seth are closer than before. There are more sweet scenes between them that will make readers flail and squeal in excitement. Seth is a very charming, kind-hearted, loving, and patient guy. Not to mention overprotective because he fears losing the girl he loves. Oh. My. Heart! What more can Fiona ask for? On top of that, Seth is the only one who fully understands Fiona inside and out. However, Fiona’s issues about her invisibility and physical appearance put their relationship to the test.

Fiona’s friends, also known as The Pack, is back in full force with their all out support, great fighting spirit, and yes, funny antics. I can say that Blindsided is one of the books that best depict genuine friendship. The unity, strength, and faith displayed by the characters made their bond stronger.

A cool, smart, and fearless character whose initials are L and S is also introduced in Blindsided. It was such a delight to meet her! What I loved about L.S. is that her character added rhythm and spark to the story. Readers will definitely find her awesome! 

Blindsided proves that we can find true happiness when we let go of the things that make us feel bad and live life the way it is. 2014 is off to a great start with this remarkable tale of love, friendship, trust, and embracing everything that makes us who we are.

Rating:

4.5/5 stars

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Blindsided by Natalie Whipple

  1. What a great review!

    I felt the same exact way that you did, when reading Transparent. There was so much more to the world that needed to be answered!

    I love this line from your review: “The significance of family is one of the things I loved in Transparent. I’m so happy that it still plays a huge part in the sequel.” – I loved that about Transparent too, and I’m SO glad it’s a huge part of the sequel. 🙂

Leave a Reply

