Book Review: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

FangirlTitle: Fangirl

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Publication date: September 10, 2013

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

Source: Copy provided by the publisher (Thank you, St. Martin’s Press!) / Bought at Fully Booked

Purchase the book:  Amazon / Barnes & Noble Book Depository / Fully Booked / National Bookstore 

Synopsis: 

In Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl, Cath is a Simon Snow fan. Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan, but for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.
Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words . . . And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this? Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

*Photo and synopsis from Goodreads

My review:

Fangirl is an extraordinary, funny, and heartwarming story of love, fan fiction, family, and self-discovery. The story’s fresh and exceptional concept sets it apart from other contemporary YA novels I read in 2013. Euphoria vibrated all over my body every time I turned a page. I savored every word of this book, never wanting the story to finish. Rainbow Rowell’s writing is so authentic, honest, smart, and filled with warmth. Her words are alive. Emotions surged from every chapter and carried me away to the land of amazing feels.

The plot is well developed and very engaging. This book thoroughly illustrated what it’s like to be engrossed in a fictional world, and yes, being a fan. My fellow bookworms, you MUST read this book to understand what I’m saying. You have to feel to believe. Reading Fangirl unlocked memories of my grade school days when I wrote fan fiction with my best friend. We both enjoyed writing stories set in the world of the book series we loved. We didn’t want to leave the fictional world and what’s the best way to stay than to write our own stories!

Fangirl may be centered on main character Cath’s love for fan fiction but that’s only the surface. Beneath all the fuzzy feels lie realistic issues that Cath goes through—college life, family problems, social anxiety, and matters of the heart. It’s fascinating how a story can be so much more that what it seems to be. I suppose that’s the magic of reading a Rainbow Rowell book. Readers are surprised in beautiful, unexpected ways.

Cath’s character is so real. Readers are sure to connect with her from the beginning. Although Cath started out as withdrawn and a bit awkward, she evolved into a better version of herself in the course of the story. Moreover, I greatly admire how Cath is such a family-oriented girl. For me, that’s her character’s strongest trait. Her love for her Dad and twin sister, Wren, is precious.

Then there’s Levi, Cath’s love interest. He is an adorable guy who exudes a positive attitude and is very friendly. He is always there for Cath and will do anything for her. Cath and Levi’s romance is charming and genuine. Seeing their friendship blossom into something more is a priceless kind of bliss. My heart melted with Levi’s romantic gestures as well as he and Cath’s swoon-worthy conversations. I have no words. Really, guys. Everything’s just…perfect.

Each of us has a spark inside our being. To make that spark shine brighter, we have to open ourselves to the possibilities around us. Try new things! Be brave to step out of our comfort zone. That’s what this story is about. Once again, Rainbow Rowell crafted a delightful story that certainly altered my perception of a perfect contemporary YA.

Rating:

5/5 stars

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

  1. Oh, gosh. Your review has just convinced me that I need this book in my life. Right now. I wish my library had this book, but alas, it does not. *immediately goes to Amazon after posting this comment*
    I love that this is a novel that includes fangirling. Fangirling is such a large thing these days. I fangirl pretty much every day, especially with blogger friends. And to read about a character that understands this crazy and intense love that we can feel for fictional characters just sounds downright amazing. And having a family oriented character is very hard to find in YA sometimes, so I am looking forward to reading about that, as well 😀

  2. Waaaahhh, Fangirl has been on my bookshelf since the PH Bloggers Christmas Party but I’m procrastinating on reading if because…because…because of the hype, man! But your review is so ugh because now I want to finish the books I’m reading to start on Fangirl.

    Huhuhu the pressure you place on me is absurd

  3. Hi Ate Jesselle! Your review of Fangirl made it climb up to the top of my reading list. I’m reading it ASAP. It’s like I already feel that it’s perfect because you said so. Maybe Rainbow Rowell will join the list of my favorite authors too. Stay amazing and more power!

    • Yay, that’s great to hear! Happy reading, Mileventwelve! Rainbow Rowell is an awesome writer. I do hope she’ll be one of your fave authors too. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Zero to Hero Day 11: Be a Good Neighbor–Leave Comments on Three New Blogs | Mileventwelve

Leave a Reply

