Blog Tour: Wings by Elizabeth Richards [Review + Giveaway + Quiz!]

banner

Hello everyone! Today’s the first day of the #WingsPHBlogTour! Hooray! I’m so happy to be a tour stop along with Michelle of The Escapist. I hope you enjoy the whole tour as it’s loaded with lots of fun and interesting stuff including an awesome INTERNATIONAL giveaway! 🙂

About the book:

Wings

Title: Wings (Black City, #3)

Author: Elizabeth Richards

Publication date: June 12, 2014

Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons BYR

Pages: 400

Source: ARC from author (Thank you, Liz!)

Purchase the book: Amazon / Barnes & Noble Book Depository / Fully Booked 

Synopsis: 

Following the cliffhanger ending of Phoenix, Natalie finds herself separated from Ash and unexpectedly reunited with her parents, including the father she thought was dead. But she can only think of Ash. She hasn’t heard a word of him since she and Elijah were brought to the underground headquarters of the Sentry Rebellion. But she vows to find him.

Ash, meanwhile is back in Black City; it’s the perfect place to hide from the Sentry government. But not for long. He won’t give up on Natalie or bringing an end to the terrible reign of Purian Rose.

A pulse-racing end to an exciting series.

*Photo and synopsis from Goodreads 

My review:

With Wings as the final book in the Black City series, writing this review is a bittersweet moment for me. As a parting gift to a beloved series, I wrote a lengthy review containing everything that my heart wants to say. 

Wings takes readers on a thrilling ride of stressful conflicts and startling discoveries leading to the final destination—the fate and future of the United Sentry States and of Ash Fisher and Natalie Buchanan. The book has an array of diverse secondary characters that added zing to its brilliantly crafted plot. Each secondary character plays a significant role in the story’s intense sequence of events. I’m in awe with how characters like Beetle, Day, and Elijah contributed to the rebellion’s efforts in fighting for peace and unity in their country. Day is a fantastic surprise! Fans of the series know that Day’s a girl with beauty and brains. But in Wings, she is more than that. Day has a lot of fire in her that uncloaked her fearless side.

Aside from the three previously mentioned characters, other familiar faces that readers met in Black City and Phoenix also make an appearance. What’s more, Wings introduces new and intriguing characters that make up the series’ well-constructed history. In addition, itenables readers to connect significant episodes in the past to the present and tie all loose ends until the biggest shock in the whole series is unveiled. My whole world stopped breathing when the pieces of puzzles finally came together revealing the picture of the big and horrible truth. It’s undeniably insane, you guys. Believe me.

As always, Elizabeth Richards’ writing is gorgeous, effortless, and authentic. She describes people, scenes, and emotions with a natural aesthetic touch. The originality of Elizabeth’s style never fails to enchant me with its impeccable beauty. Moreover, I love how she tells the past through one of the new characters named Edmund. Incidentally, Edmund is a giant time bomb whose explosion would send you flying out to space. When you realize his true identity, you’ll have a deeper understanding of the series’ history as well as why Edmund conducts himself in a particular way.

Ash and Natalie’s romance is so genuine, believable, and very natural in this book. I’ve been on Team Nash since Black City and I feel privileged to witness how far their relationship has come. In Wings, the bond that Ash and Natalie share is so much more than what they had in the first two books. Their love strengthened into something with greater depth and meaning—going beyond limits, taking risks, and devotedly trusting each other in spite of the odds. Two hearts beating as one, Ash and Natalie are unbreakable. Nothing—not even the people around them—can come between both characters.

My admiration for Ash grew stronger in Wings because of what he did for Natalie in the end. Throughout the years I’ve read young adult fiction, it is in Wings that I encountered the most immeasurable and selfless act that a YA fictional boyfriend can do for the love of his life. It’s an incredibly beautiful and moving expression of true love. A heavy stream of emotions coursed through me while reading that part. The intensity of the scene consumed me and when my heart couldn’t hold any longer, my eyes unleashed a waterfall of tears.

Thank you, Elizabeth Richards, for creating a brave and extraordinary world that inspires readers to fight for what they believe in and not let their fears reign over them. Never give up. And most of all, never back down! The Black City series is a huge part of my book blogging journey being the first paranormal/dystopian that I loved. I’ll definitely miss the thrill of being in the Black City world.

Charged with electrifying action, mind-blowing revelations, and passionate romance, Wings is a breathtaking grand finale to a series that’s too remarkable to be forgotten. Captivating until the end!

 

Rating:

5/5 stars

 

GIVEAWAY TIME!

Please click on the link below and it will direct you to the Rafflecopter form!

a Rafflecopter giveaway 

Before you leave my blog, have fun by answering this QUIZ:

 Which character from WINGS are you?

Let me know your result in the comment section below! 🙂

fbheader

WINGS_wallpaper_2

For the complete schedule of the #WingsPHBlogTour, head over to The Bookaholic Blurbs!

17 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Wings by Elizabeth Richards [Review + Giveaway + Quiz!]

  1. Great review, ate Jesselle! And totally unrelated to this post but I must say, I’m loving the new theme! So fab!

  2. I’m Natalie! :”>
    Aww, Ate Jesse. I so love your review. I keep on nodding along every word you said. I’ll surely miss Team Nash! Gonna miss this series so bad 😦

    • Hi Jassie! I got Day! Thank you so much for taking the time to read my review. I’ll also miss fangirling over this series with you and Mara! 🙂

  3. Great review! I cannot wait until Wings comes out! I have been waiting for this book since the day Phoenix came out!
    I took the quiz and I got Day!😊

  4. Hello, Jesselle! Thank you very much for this opportunity. I will be looking forward with this giveaway. Kudos to the blogs that made this tour possible! I just like you to know that according to the result, I’m a Day type of Wigs. I am so glad that it really reflects my personality, all ofwhat it said. But this blog tour would not be happening too if it is not of Miss Elizabeth Richards. A huge thank you to her brilliant work on the series. :))

  5. Thanks so much for the giveaway! I’m so excited for Wings to come out so I can binge-read the series~ (already got Black City and Phoenix) 😀 I took the quiz and got Day 🙂

  6. G8T Review! @wesome Cover! I can’t wait to see what goes down in Wings and discover who this Edmond is you say. Oh and on the quiz, I was Day too!

  7. This is an amazing review! I can’t believe the series is finally coming to a close; it seems only yesterday that I’ve read and loved Black City and Phoenix.

  8. OMG! Unbelievably excited for this one! Had managed ARCs of the first two from my friend, but don’t think she got this one so my wait has been extra long! Already preordered my copy and it cannot come soon enough!

  9. Pingback: The Lifelong Bookworm’s Best Books of 2014 | THE LIFELONG BOOKWORM

Leave a Reply

