Event Recap: HarperCollins Winter 2015 Preview!

A few weeks ago, an ordinary morning turned extraordinary when I received an awesome email from HarperCollins International publicist Sarah Woodruff! 🙂 It was an invitation to the HarperCollins Winter 2015 Preview, which I attended with my fab blogger friends last night at the National Book Store office.

Sarah's Presentation

Sarah’s presentation!

The event began with games (YA trivia!) followed by Sarah’s presentation of HarperCollins’ upcoming YA books in 2015. There are so many amazing books and I want to read all of them! Good thing I brought a notebook and pen with me to take note of the titles and their corresponding release dates. The list on my notebook isn’t complete so I enumerated the missing titles after the picture below.

Notes

My notes from the event. Sorry for the ugly handwriting. Haha! 🙂

TITLES NOT ON THE LIST:

1.) Transcendent (Starling, #3) by Lesley Livingston (December 23, 2014)
2.) Willowgrove (Hemlock, #3) by Kathleen Peacock (January 6, 2015)
3.) A Cold Legacy (The Madman’s Daughter, #3) by Megan Shepherd (January 27, 2015)
4.) Better Than Perfect by Melissa Kantor (February 17, 2015)
5.) A Wicked Thing by Rhiannon Thomas (February 24, 2015)
6.) Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver (March 3, 2015)
7.) The Wicked Will Rise (Dorothy Must Die, #2) by Danielle Paige (March 31, 2015)
8.) Forged (Taken, #3) by Erin Bowman (April 14, 2015)
9.) 99 Days by Katie Cotugno (April 21, 2015)

After Sarah’s presentation was a short Q & A where she shared her knowledge of the publishing industry, gave an overview on what she does as a publicist, her favorite books, and sales. Sarah also discussed a bit about the process behind blurbs and cover changes of books. It has always been my dream to work in publishing someday and hearing Sarah talk about the industry magnified my interest and appreciation for it. Moving on, everyone got very excited when Sarah asked us which authors we’d like to come to the Philippines! We blurted lots of names and we’re crossing our fingers that our wishes would be granted! 🙂 Next on the agenda was dinnertime! We devoured pizza and mojos that are both incredibly delicious. We also had the yummy snacks that Sarah brought such as cookies and chocolates!

IMG_1738

PIZZA TIME!

Group selfie with Sarah! Photo grabbed from Kai of Amaterasu Reads. 🙂

Now let’s go to the event’s most awaited GRAB ALL THE GALLEYS part! It was madness when all the grabby hands dove into the galley pile at the same time! Well, who wouldn’t go crazy seeing all these books on the table? 🙂

IMG_1727

HarperCollins Winter 2015 YA books! ❤

I managed to grab three galleys of contemporary titles that caught my eye! Hooray for contemps! *happy dance*

Here we are after the intense galley grabbing, all smiles with Sarah and our new reads! 🙂

IMG_1739

PH Book Bloggers with Sarah and our precious galleys!

The HarperCollins Winter 2015 Preview is an event I will never forget. I consider it as a huge milestone in my blogging career because attending made me feel professional! Honestly, I still can’t believe that my love for reading blossomed into something big and extremely enjoyable! Sharing my thoughts about books makes me happy and I really want to do this for a long time.

IMG_1728

With international publicist extraordinaire, Sarah Woodruff! 🙂

I am forever thankful to HarperCollins for the many opportunities they’ve given me since I started book blogging. They are amazing and I look forward to reading and reviewing more books. Working with them is always a delight! Many thanks to Sarah for inviting me to the event. I had a blast! Lastly, sincere appreciation to National Book Store for everything. 🙂

IMG_1743

Super excited to read these pretty galleys! I ❤ contemporaries! 🙂

 

5 thoughts on “Event Recap: HarperCollins Winter 2015 Preview!

  1. Hello Jess! this post was fantastic! meeting bloggers and authors is on of my dream! I would like to ask how to contact or get in touch with publishers such as HarperCollins, as a young blogger I am seeking for great chance to meet bloggers/authors and widen my reading span as well. I am also from Philippines! kudos! 🙂

Leave a Reply

