ARC Review: The Last Time We Say Goodbye by Cynthia Hand

17285330Title: The Last Time We Say Goodbye

Author: Cynthia Hand

Publication date: February 10, 2015

Publisher: Harper Teen

Pages: 400

Source: ARC from publisher (Thank you, HarperCollins!)

Purchase the book: Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Book Depository / Fully Booked / National Book Store

 

Synopsis:

There’s death all around us.
We just don’t pay attention.
Until we do.

The last time Lex was happy, it was before. When she had a family that was whole. A boyfriend she loved. Friends who didn’t look at her like she might break down at any moment.

Now she’s just the girl whose brother killed himself. And it feels like that’s all she’ll ever be.

As Lex starts to put her life back together, she tries to block out what happened the night Tyler died. But there’s a secret she hasn’t told anyone-a text Tyler sent, that could have changed everything.

Lex’s brother is gone. But Lex is about to discover that a ghost doesn’t have to be real to keep you from moving on.

From New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand, The Last Time We Say Goodbye is a gorgeous and heart-wrenching story of love, loss, and letting go.

*Photo and synopsis from Goodreads

My review:

The Last Time We Say Goodbye perfectly depicts the painful experience of losing a loved one to an unexpected circumstance. In this novel, it is suicide. The story centers on main character Lex’s journey to acceptance, healing, and forgiveness. Its emotional weight will grasp readers’ hearts firmly of Lex’s grief and longing for her brother. It’s beautiful. Inspiring. Everything feels so real.

I had my own experience of sudden death in the family when I was eleven years old. Although not by suicide, the feeling that something’s been stolen from you hurts so much. One minute the person’s there and the next thing you know, he’s gone forever. Like Lex, my family and I went through a hard time embracing the reality that an important piece of us is gone. I was one of the people greatly affected by the incident because I wasn’t able to say goodbye. Reading this book took me back to those dark days, feeling the familiar cloak of sadness around me.

Dealing with sudden loss is really difficult because a part of your life has been taken from you. Still, there will always be a place for that person within your heart. So treasure every moment with the ones you love because you never know when you’re going to be together for the last time.

As the first Cynthia Hand book I’ve read, The Last Time We Say Goodbye introduced me to the author’s gorgeous, lyrical prose. Cynthia Hand’s writing blew me away with its fluid pace, laced with emotions that come from the deepest part of the soul. I’m delighted to say that I will definitely read Cynthia Hand’s other books and those she has yet to write.

Brilliant and marvelously gripping, The Last Time We Say Goodbye is a novel filled with love and the sincerest kind of sadness.

 

Rating:

 4/5 stars

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: The Last Time We Say Goodbye by Cynthia Hand

  1. Amazing review! I so want to read this book despite the negative reviews on Goodreads because I believe that it has so much potential. Do you notice that there has been an increase in suicide themes in YA contemporary now? Anyway, happy reading! 🙂
    Kim @ Divergent Gryffindor: BLOG || VLOG

    • Thanks, Kim! I hope you get to read this book soon! 🙂 Yeah, I noticed that! In fact, this is the 4th book w/ a suicide theme that I’ve read.

Leave a Reply

