ARC Review: The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne

22504702Title: The Wrong Side of Right

Author: Jenn Marie Thorne

Publication date: March 17, 2015

Publisher: Dial

Pages: 400

Source: ARC gifted by the author (Thank you, Jenn Marie Thorne!)

Purchase the book: Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Book Depository / Fully Booked / National Book Store

Synopsis:

Fans of Sarah Dessen and Huntley Fitzpatrick will enjoy this smart debut young adult novel, equal parts My Life Next Door and The Princess Diaries—plus a dash of Aaron Sorkin.

Kate Quinn’s mom died last year, leaving Kate parentless and reeling. So when the unexpected shows up in her living room, Kate must confront another reality she never thought possible—or thought of at all. Kate does have a father. He’s a powerful politician. And he’s running for U.S. President. Suddenly, Kate’s moving in with a family she never knew she had, joining a campaign in support of a man she hardly knows, and falling for a rebellious boy who may not have the purest motives. This is Kate’s new life. But who is Kate? When what she truly believes flies in the face of the campaign’s talking points, she must decide. Does she turn to the family she barely knows, the boy she knows but doesn’t necessarily trust, or face a third, even scarier option?

Set against a backdrop of politics, family, and first love, this is a story of personal responsibility, complicated romance, and trying to discover who you are even as everyone tells you who you should be.

*Photo and synopsis from Goodreads

My review:

2015 is, without question, a year filled with promising YA contemporary titles. A lot caught my attention yet only a few are on my highly anticipated list. Debut novel The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne is one of them. I LOVED it! ❤ ❤ ❤ Now here are reasons why the book MUST be on your TBR pile:

The Wrong Side of Right explores self-discovery, family, first love, and the world of politics in a way that holds the reader’s attention from start to finish. It has a rich, absorbing force that accentuates the skillfully executed plot. Brimming with sincerity, wit, and utmost authenticity, The Wrong Side of Right contains the ingredients of a stunning YA novel. Although the story is built in a political setting, it does not focus on that angle alone. The family and romance aspects are marvelously sewn into the plot, resulting in a balanced story. The Wrong Side of Right gives readers an exclusive look at the behind the scenes action of a presidential campaign. Fascinating, realistic, and enlightening! Also, the unpredictability of the story is noteworthy. To tell you the truth, I did not see what’s coming next! The surprising twists make the book a compelling masterpiece. For a debut, The Wrong Side of Right shows great potential to be a well-loved contemporary in the YA community.

Author Jenn Marie Thorne created a set of dynamic characters that are distinct from one another. Main character Kate Quinn is a smart, sensible, and kind girl. She values her family and friends. She fights for what is right. Kate is one of the most reflective characters I’ve ever encountered in YA. She is quite something! Her character transformation is admirable and inspiring.

Next is Andy Lawrence, the president’s son. With his gorgeous looks, irresistible charm, and swoon-worthy moves, who wouldn’t be smitten with him? Andy is perceived as rebellious but I don’t see him that way. To me, he is a normal teenager who just likes to have fun. Andy sees the real Kate, not “publicity” Kate (you’ll understand when you read TWSOR). I love him for that! He knows what Kate is going through because he experiences it too. It’s amazing that they have each other in spite of how intricate and forbidden their connection is. Secondary characters like Senator Cooper, Meg, Gracie, Gabe, Penny, and even the Cooper campaign team infused diverse flavors into the story through their individual personalities.

I would describe the romance in The Wrong Side of Right as a delightful, unforgettable sensation of first love. It is not rushed at all, that’s why I adore everything about it. Although Kate and Andy are situated in complicated positions, the two, being children of respected politicians, their relationship unfurled naturally. It’s the same way two strangers get to know each other, become really good friends, and after some time, romantic feelings flourish between them. As Kate and Andy’s friendship evolve into something more, readers would witness their indisputable romantic chemistry. Their spark jumps off the page and into your heart, charging it with swoony, jovial feels. Believe me, guys. Kate and Andy’s relationship would light you up in a flash! I didn’t realize I was smiling until my cheeks hurt. I’m not kidding! Their interactions are extremely adorable. #TeamKandy forever! 🙂

Jenn Marie Thorne’s writing is a lovely combination of creativity and heart. Vibrant and clever, her words breathe like a living creature, emanating a fresh, polished tone that echoes the unfeigned reality of life. The dialogues, which are remarkably sharp, are genuine in every sense of the word. Moreover, the vivid descriptions are works of art—you’d want to plunge into the story and live in it. Jenn Marie Thorne is indeed an author to watch! I’m an instant fan! Added her to my list of favorite authors. 🙂

Bursting with the brightest intensity of awesomeness, The Wrong Side of Right is an extraordinary debut novel that warms the heart in every beautiful way.

 

Rating:

5/5 stars

 

 

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne

    • Hi! So nice of you to follow my blog! Thank you so much! I am excited for you to read TWSOR! It’s really brilliant. Hope you like it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s