Event Recap: E. Lockhart in Manila!

New York Times Bestselling author, E. Lockhart, visited the Philippines this month for two book signing events–one in Manila and another in Cebu. Yesterday was the Manila signing, which I delightfully attended. I loved her books, Fly on the Wall and We Were Liars (5-star review here) so I was really excited to meet the author in person.

Here’s a rundown of what happened at yesterday’s awesome bookish event:

Q&A with E. Lockhart

Q&A with E. Lockhart

Emily answered questions at a special Q&A gathering with book bloggers. She’s a deep thinker, you guys! She would pause to reflect on every question. And what emerged after a moment of rumination were words overflowing with profound wisdom. You may listen to the audio recording of the Q&A here.

We bloggers lined up to have our books signed at the end of the Q&A. When it was my turn, Emily and I chatted a little about writing. I mentioned to her that I’m working on a contemporary YA. “Good for you!” was Emily’s encouraging reply. I requested her to write down an advice for me. On my copy of We Were Liars, she inscribed, “Keep writing.” Although short and sweet, the message meant a lot for an aspiring writer. It is additional motivation to push on with what I love doing the most. ❤

E. Lockhart signing my books! :)

E. Lockhart signing my books! 🙂

Emily has a warm, charming glow about her that enlivened the whole place. You’d want to be around her all the time! 🙂

With the lovely E. Lockhart!

With the lovely E. Lockhart! ❤

E. Lockhart signing books

E. Lockhart with bloggers

PH YA Book Bloggers with E. Lockhart

Aside from meeting Emily in person, I was so happy to see my blogger friends again after a couple of months. Catching up and talking about books with them was a blast! Also, my Hardest Selfie Ever buddies and I were reunited for version 10.0, which happens to be our first selfie for 2015. 🙂

Hardest Selfie Ever 10.0 with Lyra of Defiantly Deviant, Louisse of The Soul Sisters, and Kate of The Bookaholic Blurbs

The tradition continues! Hardest Selfie Ever 10.0 with Lyra of Defiantly Deviant, Louisse of The Soul Sisters, and Kate of The Bookaholic Blurbs.

Next was the public signing at National Book Store Glorietta 1. Filipino bookworms waited patiently at the venue. Some read to kill time, while others mingled with other bookworms. Don’t you just love it when books and bookish events bring people together? How wonderful!

IMG_2898

Public book signing at National Book Store Glorietta 1

A display of E. Lockhart's books

A display of E. Lockhart’s books

PH bookworms at the book signing event

PH bookworms at the book signing event

Signed books! :)

Signed books! 🙂

Thank you so much Emily for visiting the Philippines! We hope to see you again one day. 🙂 To the ever phenomenal National Book Store, my sincerest gratitude for making #ELockhartinPH possible. I’m looking forward to the next book signing event!

Were you at E. Lockhart’s book signing in Manila or in Cebu? Share your experience on the comment section below!

Leave a Reply

