ARC Review: Hold Me Like A Breath by Tiffany Schmidt

18584521Title: Hold Me Like A Breath (Once Upon A Crime Family, #1)

Author: Tiffany Schmidt

Publication date: May 19, 2015

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Pages: 400

Source: ARC from publisher (Thank you, Bloomsbury!)

Purchase the book: Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Book Depository / Fully Booked

Synopsis:

Penelope Landlow has grown up with the knowledge that almost anything can be bought or sold—including body parts. She’s the daughter of one of the three crime families that control the black market for organ transplants.

Penelope’s surrounded by all the suffocating privilege and protection her family can provide, but they can’t protect her from the autoimmune disorder that causes her to bruise so easily.

And in her family’s line of work no one can be safe forever.

All Penelope has ever wanted is freedom and independence. But when she’s caught in the crossfire as rival families scramble for prominence, she learns that her wishes come with casualties, that betrayal hurts worse than bruises, that love is a risk worth taking . . . and maybe she’s not as fragile as everyone thinks.

*Photo and synopsis from Goodreads 

My review:

With a unique and compelling storyline, Hold Me Like A Breath caught my interest in a flash. I was very excited to read the book, particularly because it’s my first YA thriller, if I’m not mistaken.

Hold Me Like A Breath is a good story! Its concept is intriguing with a sprinkle of mystery. It also has depth and overflowing authenticity. Sadly, it did not live up to my expectations. I felt that some parts lacked intensity, that suspenseful drive required for a reader to fully experience the thrill in a thriller novel. Although there were tension-filled action scenes, I wish there had been more.

Hold Me Like A Breath has wonderful character development. It was good to see the main character, Penelope, grow into a brave and independent individual. Since Penelope grew up sheltered and well taken care of, it was a challenge for her to live and survive alone after a tragic incident happened to her family. What I liked about Penelope is that she didn’t let her vulnerability and fears get the best of her. The supporting characters are notable as well. Every one of them played a significant role in the story. But for the most part, one character stood out to me—Char. The adorable, geeky guy knows how to make a girl swoon! He made me smile A LOT! Sweet and very caring, Char’s a keeper and quite the ideal real-life prince charming. This fictional guy has my heart! 🙂

The romance…well, I thought it was a little rushed because things developed so fast between Penelope and Char after their first meeting. But for all that, Penelope and Char’s chemistry is irresistibly delightful. It deepened the more they got to know each other. Oh, and keep your eyes peeled for a surprising revelation about Char towards the end of the book!

Author Tiffany Schmidt is a pro at creating well-developed characters and at weaving beautiful words together. Her writing is alive and magnetic. You’d want to read her words over and over again. 🙂

Hold Me Like A Breath ended with a promise for better things ahead so I’m certainly looking forward to the second book!

 

Rating:

3/5 stars

 

 

 

 

ARC Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

16096824Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Publication date: May 5, 2015

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s

Pages: 416

Source: ARC from publisher (Thank you, Bloomsbury!)

Purchase the book: Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Book Depository / Fully Booked / National Book Store

Synopsis:

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

*Photo and synopsis from Goodreads

My review:

The last time I read fantasy was sometime in August 2014. It was then followed by a streak of contemporaries and occasional sci-fi and dystopian in between. To be honest, I am not a massive fantasy fan but this book I’m going to tell you about is purely incredible.

A Court of Thorns and Roses held my full attention at “The forest had become a labyrinth of snow and ice.” That first sentence—that first taste of magic is quite a knockout. I knew right away that I was reading a novel that is certain to be huge. ACOTAR is my first Sarah J. Maas book, and I’m happy to say that it surpassed my expectations. I was impressed by the remarkable world-building, the brilliantly executed plot, and the well-developed characters! The magic in this book washed over me in an extraordinary fashion. Words are not enough to describe how it felt. One thing I adored about ACOTAR is its refreshing Beauty and the Beast vibe. It gave the classic fairy tale a twisted yet hypnotic charm that engulfs readers in a matter of seconds. AMAZING!

A Court of Thorns and Roses started slow for me, but the story picked up soon enough. And from there, I was on an adventure that I didn’t want to end. There are surprises and revelations along the way specifically towards the conclusion that will blow your mind. Oh, and ready your heart for an influx of emotions because the ending is… Well, I’ll leave it at that.

Feyre is the kind of main character that readers should look up to for her strength, bravery, and selflessness. Those traits truly make her an unforgettable heroine. Now there’s Tamlin, Lucien, and Rhysand—three enchanting faerie men who are out of this world beautiful, sexy, and powerful in all angles. I loved Tamlin from the beginning because of his protectiveness over Feyre. Tamlin may also seem intimidating, but deep down he’s sweet and awkward at times when Feyre’s around. The spark between him and Feyre is just !!!!!!! 🙂 ❤ ❤ ❤ Lucien is my favorite because of his being faithful to Tamlin and a trusted friend to Feyre at court. Although he could be occasionally irritating with that snarky attitude of his, Lucien is still adorable. Last but not the least is Rhysand. My feelings toward this fae are in a tug-of-war situation. Rhys is a character that I like to hate yet there’s something about him that makes me want to love him. WHAAAAT? I know. Perhaps Book 2 will settle my ambivalent thoughts?

The romance is intense, heart melting, and irresistible. Pardon me for these overused words, dear readers. ACOTAR is the kind of book that puts a brake on your brain’s production of appealing descriptive words. But take note of this: you’ll want more of the romance after you’ve finished ACOTAR. Trust me. 🙂

Sarah J. Maas’ writing is vibrant with life. She created a fantasy world that you’d want to be part of. Plus, Sarah J. Maas has a breathtaking way of describing things, places, people, and emotions. Everything about this book is magical and genuine at the same time! A fantasy novel with sincere emotions never fails to capture my heart. Two thumbs up for ACOTAR!!!

Sparkling with the glamour of timeless magic, A Court of Thorns and Roses is a phenomenal first book in a new series that everyone is sure to love!

 

 

Rating:

5/5 stars