ARC Review: The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi

Untitled-4Title: The Night We Said Yes

Author: Lauren Gibaldi

Publication date: June 16, 2015

Publisher: HarperTeen

Pages: 304

Source: Gifted by the author (Thank you, Lauren!)

Purchase the book: Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Book Depository / National Book StoreFully Booked

Synopsis:

A fun, romantic read, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti!

Before Matt, Ella had a plan. Get over a no-good ex-boyfriend. Graduate from high school without any more distractions. Move away from Orlando, Florida, where she’s lived her entire life.

But Matt—the cute, shy, bespectacled bass player who just moved to town—was never part of that plan.

And neither was attending a party that was crashed by the cops just minutes after they arrived. Or spending an entire night saying “yes” to every crazy, fun thing they could think of.

Then Matt abruptly left town, and he broke not only Ella’s heart but those of their best friends, too. So when he shows up a year later with a plan of his own—to relive the night that brought them together—Ella isn’t sure whether Matt’s worth a second chance. Or if re-creating the past can help them create a different future.

In alternating then and now chapters, debut author Lauren Gibaldi crafts a charming, romantic story of first loves, lifelong friendships, uncovered secrets, and, ultimately, finding out how to be brave.

*Photo and synopsis from Goodreads

My review:

Have you ever experienced feeling connected to a book even before you’ve read it? That’s what I felt toward The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi. When I read its description, I immediately sensed that it’s my kind of YA contemporary. And I was right. The Night We Said Yes is a book that’s meant to be in my life.

With a voice that reaches the depths of the heart, The Night We Said Yes delivers a fresh, reflective take on true love and second chances. More than that, it is about letting go of the past, accepting one’s flaws and brokenness, and believing in yourself. I very much appreciate how this book encapsulates the unlimited adventures of teenage life. But what I love the most is how the story inspires readers to be brave and take risks. To be different. To live in the moment. To say YES to what makes them happy. Who wouldn’t love a book that will not only make you swoon but also inspire you to be a better person? ❤ The Night We Said Yes is indeed the best of everything. It’s brilliant and uplifting until the very end! 🙂

Written in alternate Then and Now chapters, The Night We Said Yes takes readers to the past, giving them a chance to understand and know how Ella and Matt’s story began. Author Lauren Gibaldi developed characters that are compelling and believable. Insightful, kind-hearted, and smart, Ella is the best friend every girl must have in her life. I identified with Ella a lot as I saw pieces of myself in her. She’s my fictional soul sister! 🙂 And then there’s Matt—charming, caring, and really sweet! He’s the type of guy you’d want to fall in love with at first sight. Oh, and his enigmatic, geeky vibe will totally draw you to him. Most of all, I loved Matt’s effort to connect with Ella again to win her back. It’s a priceless move that makes him a keeper!

Friendship plays a huge role in The Night We Said Yes. I loved how the story showed what unfeigned friendships are—imperfect but worth having. Ella and her best friend Meg’s bond is an ideal example of a strong, irreplaceable sisterhood that will never be forgotten. On top of that, other characters like Jake, Barker, and Gabby added different hues to the already colorful tale.

The romance in The Night We Said Yes is filled with raw emotions and swoon-worthy moments that you’d want to experience for yourself. That spark full of hope in a new beginning with someone, and the moment of connection that feels so right. Believe me, you’d wish to be Ella plenty of times when you read TNWSY! Everything about Ella and Matt’s relationship is natural. They just work well together! In a very realistic manner, The Night We Said Yes proves that love is the most beautiful kind of magic there is in the world.

Lauren Gibaldi’s writing flows with authenticity and heart, making me feel that I’m living inside the book instead of reading it. The truthfulness of the words connected me to the story and its characters. It’s downright wonderful to feel that when reading a book! The Night We Said Yes hit me right in the feels, you know? Oh, and guess what? It sparked a change in me. I’m a happier, improved version of myself now than before I read it. My heart brims with gratitude that a story such as The Night We Said Yes was written. Lauren Gibaldi is a gifted writer. I’d definitely read all the books she’s going to write! 🙂

Gleaming with heartfelt moments and the brightest of possibilities, The Night We Said Yes is a remarkable debut novel that beautifully captures the core of love, friendship, and second chances in a magical and unforgettable way.

 

Rating:

5/5 stars

8 thoughts on “ARC Review: The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi

  1. Finally, a 5-star review! I’m so excited for this title and it saddens me that I’ve been seeing bad reviews lately. But glad to know you loved it! I kind of felt the same way towards the synopsis, like it’s my kind of YA.

    • Great that you’re excited! This book is all kinds of amazing. It really spoke to me! I hope it will for you, too. 🙂 Can’t wait for you to read it!

  2. I’m so glad you enjoyed reading this! I’m so happy that I gave this one a go. It’s seriously one of the best YA contemporary books I’ve ever read simply because the characters felt very real and I was able to relate with their situations and personalities.

Leave a Reply

