Bookish Birthday Bash: The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi [Guest Post + Playlist]

1

Hey there! Welcome to Day 2 of Bookish Birthday Bash! Today’s feature spotlights debut author Lauren Gibaldi and her beautiful novel, The Night We Said Yes. Sit back, relax, and enjoy the awesomeness! 🙂

3

Untitled-4Synopsis:

A fun, romantic read, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti!

Before Matt, Ella had a plan. Get over a no-good ex-boyfriend. Graduate from high school without any more distractions. Move away from Orlando, Florida, where she’s lived her entire life.

But Matt—the cute, shy, bespectacled bass player who just moved to town—was never part of that plan.

And neither was attending a party that was crashed by the cops just minutes after they arrived. Or spending an entire night saying “yes” to every crazy, fun thing they could think of.

Then Matt abruptly left town, and he broke not only Ella’s heart but those of their best friends, too. So when he shows up a year later with a plan of his own—to relive the night that brought them together—Ella isn’t sure whether Matt’s worth a second chance. Or if re-creating the past can help them create a different future.

In alternating then and now chapters, debut author Lauren Gibaldi crafts a charming, romantic story of first loves, lifelong friendships, uncovered secrets, and, ultimately, finding out how to be brave.

*Photo and synopsis from Goodreads

The Night We Said Yes is out on June 16, 2015 from HarperTeen.

Purchase the book: Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Book Depository / Fully Booked / National Book Store

 

7

lgibaldi_authorphoto

Photo courtesy of Lauren Gibaldi

Lauren Gibaldi is a writer and public librarian. She’s been, among other things, a magazine editor, high school English teacher, bookseller, and circus aerialist (seriously). She has a BA in Literature and Master’s in Library and Information Studies, both from Florida State University. She currently live in Orlando, Florida with her husband and daughter. THE NIGHT WE SAID YES is her first novel.

*Author bio provided by Lauren Gibaldi

 

6

For her guest post, the wonderful Lauren Gibaldi shares the story of a memorable night where she said YES. ❤ Here it goes:

It all started with a party.

I guess a lot of stories start that way, but mine never did. I didn’t go to a lot of parties in high school, and the ones I did were either a) tame birthday parties or b) tame drama club parties. I guess crazy things might have happened at them, but I was never part of that. I was a good girl.

But during my junior year I was invited to a party at a friend’s house where his band was going to play. Parents wouldn’t be home. Lots of people were going. To say I was excited was an understatement. It was the first time I actually bought an outfit for a party.

Before leaving, my best friend and I giggled about what the night might bring. Excitement! Danger! Boys! More importantly, a specific boy. A boy I liked. He was going to be there, and, you know, a girl could dream, right?

When writing THE NIGHT WE SAID YES, that night jumped into my mind. I remember the feeling like it was yesterday. I remember pulling up to the house with all the hope and fear and anticipation in the world. With all the belief that in one night, anything and everything could happen.

In my book, a lot of crazy things happen–cops come, dares are said, and rules are broken. At my party so many years ago, not so much. It was, once again, tame comparatively, but it was still my night. I remember listening to the band and loving it so much. I remember talking to, and giggling with, my crush. I remember standing next to my best friend and feeling like the best version of myself. I remember being there, in the middle of it all.

The night didn’t make my dreams come true, but it gave me the courage and push to work towards them.

A few years ago I said yes to writing a book about a group of friends who said yes to every idea they had for one night. It was a made up idea, something that popped in my mind that felt like me. It reminded me so much of that night, way back in high school, when I said yes to living.

 

9

Presenting…

Lauren Gibaldi’s playlist for The Night We Said Yes! Happy listening! 🙂

  1. “Your Ex-Lover Is Dead” – Stars
  2. “The Night Starts Here” – Stars
  3. “Sometimes I Still Feel the Bruise” -Trembling Blue Stars
  4. “Should I Stay or Should I Go” – The Clash
  5. “We Are Young” – Fun. featuring. Janelle Monae
  6. “First Day of My Life” – Bright Eyes
  7. “It’ll Get You There” – Rilo Kley
  8. “I Wanna Get Better” – Bleachers
  9. “21 Guns” – Green Day
  10. “Shake It Out” – Florence and the Machine
  11. “Tonight the Streets are Ours” -Richard Hawley

 

So there you have it! What’s your favorite part of the feature? Share your thoughts on the comment section below!

Visit The Lifelong Bookworm again tomorrow for Day 3 of Bookish Birthday Bash with the lovely Tamara Ireland Stone and Every Last Word! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Bookish Birthday Bash: The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi [Guest Post + Playlist]

  1. Pingback: TNWSY Links! | Lauren Gibaldi

Leave a Reply

