ARC Review: Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone

23341894Title: Every Last Word

Author: Tamara Ireland Stone

Publication date: June 16, 2015

Publisher: Disney-Hyperion

Pages: 368

Source: Gifted by the author (Thank you, Tamara!)

Purchase the book: Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Book Depository / Fully Booked

Synopsis:

If you could read my mind, you wouldn’t be smiling.

Samantha McAllister looks just like the rest of the popular girls in her junior class. But hidden beneath the straightened hair and expertly applied makeup is a secret that her friends would never understand: Sam has Purely-Obsessional OCD and is consumed by a stream of dark thoughts and worries that she can’t turn off.

Second-guessing every move, thought, and word makes daily life a struggle, and it doesn’t help that her lifelong friends will turn toxic at the first sign of a wrong outfit, wrong lunch, or wrong crush. Yet Sam knows she’d be truly crazy to leave the protection of the most popular girls in school. So when Sam meets Caroline, she has to keep her new friend with a refreshing sense of humor and no style a secret, right up there with Sam’s weekly visits to her psychiatrist.

Caroline introduces Sam to Poet’s Corner, a hidden room and a tight-knit group of misfits who have been ignored by the school at large. Sam is drawn to them immediately, especially a guitar-playing guy with a talent for verse, and starts to discover a whole new side of herself. Slowly, she begins to feel more “normal” than she ever has as part of the popular crowd . . . until she finds a new reason to question her sanity and all she holds dear.

*Photo and synopsis from Goodreads

My review:

Eye-opening and inspiring, Every Last Word brilliantly depicts what it’s like to have Purely-Obsessional OCD. I had no idea about “Pure-O” until I read this book. Every Last Word is significant. I think everybody should read it to know more about “Pure-O and understand what the people who have the disorder go through. Every Last Word impressed me a lot, particularly the smooth flow of the prose, the rich, absorbing plot, and notable character development. The story grabbed me from the start, making me wish that I had all the time to read! But then there’s reality—a.k.a. work. Boo! Anyway, I loved Every Last Word because of its authentic sound and truthful disposition. Even when I was still in the first few chapters, I already felt how real it is. Every Last Word holds emotions that resonate in all corners of the heart, affecting readers deep down to their core. It inspires people to find their voice even when they thought they never would. Every Last Word shows how words are powerful in changing a person’s life. That aspect blew me away. Everything about this story radiates hope for a better life. That for me is beautiful. Oh, and the poetry is fantastic. All the poems infused Every Last Word with a distinctive personal vibe.

Sam is a genuine and insightful character that I was able to empathize with straight away. What Sam went through was an intense journey to becoming a better version of herself. Although she struggled, Sam was very determined. I loved that about her! As time progressed, Sam became comfortable with herself and accepted her flaws. In addition, I loved seeing Sam fall in love with words! That is one empowering facet in the novel.

Next is AJ, the sweet, gentle guy who knows how to make a girl melt into a puddle of swoony and happy feels. He swept me off my feet with his charming ways, good looks, and his wholehearted affection for Sam. I loved how Sam found herself because of AJ! The guy thoroughly brought out the best in her. Oh my heart!!! ❤ Plus, AJ plays the guitar and writes songs! How can I not adore him? 🙂

Caroline is a wonderful creation, exuding a mystery that added depth to Every Last Word. An unexpected twist towards the end will render you speechless. I was completely dumbfounded!

And there’s also Shrink-Sue who is my favorite character! Everything that comes out of her mouth is enlightening. Shrink-Sue just knows what to say all the time. She’s amazing! I want to have a friend like her. 🙂

The romance in Every Last Word is something that will really brighten your mood. It’s light and at the same time passionate. Not over the top but just right. Sam and AJ’s chemistry is natural and endearing. ❤

Tamara Ireland Stone’s realistic, poignant writing will set your heart falling in love with Every Last Word and its characters. Just thinking about it brings back all the deeply felt emotions. I’m sure this book will always remain in me.

Brimming with optimism and profound clarity, Every Last Word is a remarkable novel that you need to add to your TBR pile!

 

Rating:

4.5/5 stars

3 thoughts on “ARC Review: Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone

Leave a Reply

