Event Recap: Sarah J. Maas in PH!

I’m writing this post fresh from the fantabulous book signing event today which is #SarahJMaasinPH! Oh my goodness, I’m still on cloud nine from all the fangirling and happy, exciting things that happened earlier at the Q&A that I attended with my blogger friends! ❤ Sarah J. Maas is hands down super amazing. Her beauty inside and out shines bright like a diamond! Everybody squealed in delight upon seeing Sarah enter the Q&A venue!

SJMaas1

All hail Queen Sarah!

SJMaas_Q&A

Q&A with Sarah

Here are some fascinating bits I got from the Q&A:

*With every book, Sarah learns something new about herself, not only as a writer but also as a person. She also gets to know her characters well.

*Sarah sets deadlines for herself and wants to keep pushing herself.

*She’s working on the 5th Throne of Glass book, Empire of Storms.

*She loves fairy tales and folklore.

*She wants to write a retelling of the Russian folklore, “Vasilisa the Beautiful”.

*According to Sarah, she is a hybrid of pantser and plotter.

*She wants to know how to start and how she’ll end a story.

*She lets her characters speak to her.

*Her husband is her first and last boyfriend. (Awwww! <3)

*The Night Court in the ACOTAR series is a place with layers of secrets.

*A Court of Mist and Fury is a book where readers will see more of the world of Prythian!

*Sarah likes to think that there’s strength in quietness.

*Sarah wants to write strong female characters that represent different kinds of strength.

*She listens to music on repeat until she gets in her characters’ mindsets.

*Sarah has to feel what her characters are feeling.

*She opened herself up in ways she’s never done before in Heir of Fire.

*She calls Heir of Fire the “migraine book” because she cried a lot while writing it.

*It’s amazing to her that the fandom (for her books) has grown.

 

You may listen to the full audio recording of the Q&A here.

Sarah signing my books

Sarah signing my copy of A Court of Thorns and Roses!

Sarah signing my book

Sarah to me: “Your hair is so beautiful!” Me: “Thank you! Your hair is so beautiful, too!” Really guys, her hair is amazing! 🙂

With Sarah J. Maas!

With the remarkable Sarah J. Maas!

Hugging Sarah

I got to hug Sarah! ❤ ❤ ❤

PH YA Book Bloggers with SJ Maas

PH YA Book Bloggers with Sarah and her husband! 🙂

Hardest Sefie Ever 14.0 with SJMaas

Hardest Selfie Ever 14.0 with Sarah! ❤

After the Q&A, my blogger friends and I had lunch at our usual hang-out. Our topic of conversation was of course, BOOKS. 🙂 After lunch, I dropped by the public signing at National Book Store Glorietta 1 with Sab of Sab The Book Eater and Dani of Book Whales. I felt the excitement of everyone upon entering the venue! There were a lot of bookworms who camped out as early as yesterday! WOW. You guys are awesome! I salute every single one of you. 🙂

Public signing2

Public signing1

So there you have it! Another phenomenal book signing event made possible by the one and only National Book Store! Thank you very much NBS for bringing Sarah J. Maas here in the Philippines! You guys rock! 🙂

Signed ACOTAR

My signed copy of ACOTAR ❤

How about you, guys? Did you attend Sarah J. Maas’ book signing? Share your experience in the comment section below!

 

The Lifelong Bookworm’s Best Books of 2015

Hi guys! Today I’m sharing with you the books that impressed me this year because of their awesomeness. These books are dear to me! Without further ado, I now present you The Lifelong Bookworm‘s Best Books of 2015! 🙂

 

All the Bright Places

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

“Brimming with the brightest of hopes and the darkest of heartaches, All the Bright Places is a memorable tale of love, loss, and the beauty of being alive.” (Full review here.)

 

19547856

Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

“An effervescent and uplifting coming of age story, Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda is a spectacular book that fills your heart with the warm glow of infinite bliss.” (Full review here.)

22429350

The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord

“An outstanding second novel from a talented author, The Start of Me and You is pure heart and soul and the best kind of perfect.” (Full review here.)

22504702

The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne

“Bursting with the brightest intensity of awesomeness, The Wrong Side of Right is an extraordinary debut novel that warms the heart in every beautiful way.” (Full review here.)

16096824

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

“Sparkling with the glamour of timeless magic, A Court of Thorns and Roses is a phenomenal first book in a new series that everyone is sure to love!” (Full review here.)

Untitled-4

The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi

“Gleaming with heartfelt moments and the brightest of possibilities, The Night We Said Yes is a remarkable debut novel that beautifully captures the core of love, friendship, and second chances in a magical and unforgettable way.” (Full review here.)

23369370

Hello, Goodbye and Everything in Between by Jennifer E. Smith

“Instilled with surprising discoveries and hopeful beginnings, Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between is brilliance and heart in one exceptional novel.” (Full review here.)

23341894

Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone

“Brimming with optimism and profound clarity, Every Last Word is a remarkable novel that you need to add to your TBR pile!” (Full review here.)

*All book covers from Goodreads

How about you, fellow bookworms? What are your best books for this year? Share them on the comment section below! 🙂

ARC Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

16096824Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Publication date: May 5, 2015

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s

Pages: 416

Source: ARC from publisher (Thank you, Bloomsbury!)

Purchase the book: Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Book Depository / Fully Booked / National Book Store

Synopsis:

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

*Photo and synopsis from Goodreads

My review:

The last time I read fantasy was sometime in August 2014. It was then followed by a streak of contemporaries and occasional sci-fi and dystopian in between. To be honest, I am not a massive fantasy fan but this book I’m going to tell you about is purely incredible.

A Court of Thorns and Roses held my full attention at “The forest had become a labyrinth of snow and ice.” That first sentence—that first taste of magic is quite a knockout. I knew right away that I was reading a novel that is certain to be huge. ACOTAR is my first Sarah J. Maas book, and I’m happy to say that it surpassed my expectations. I was impressed by the remarkable world-building, the brilliantly executed plot, and the well-developed characters! The magic in this book washed over me in an extraordinary fashion. Words are not enough to describe how it felt. One thing I adored about ACOTAR is its refreshing Beauty and the Beast vibe. It gave the classic fairy tale a twisted yet hypnotic charm that engulfs readers in a matter of seconds. AMAZING!

A Court of Thorns and Roses started slow for me, but the story picked up soon enough. And from there, I was on an adventure that I didn’t want to end. There are surprises and revelations along the way specifically towards the conclusion that will blow your mind. Oh, and ready your heart for an influx of emotions because the ending is… Well, I’ll leave it at that.

Feyre is the kind of main character that readers should look up to for her strength, bravery, and selflessness. Those traits truly make her an unforgettable heroine. Now there’s Tamlin, Lucien, and Rhysand—three enchanting faerie men who are out of this world beautiful, sexy, and powerful in all angles. I loved Tamlin from the beginning because of his protectiveness over Feyre. Tamlin may also seem intimidating, but deep down he’s sweet and awkward at times when Feyre’s around. The spark between him and Feyre is just !!!!!!! 🙂 ❤ ❤ ❤ Lucien is my favorite because of his being faithful to Tamlin and a trusted friend to Feyre at court. Although he could be occasionally irritating with that snarky attitude of his, Lucien is still adorable. Last but not the least is Rhysand. My feelings toward this fae are in a tug-of-war situation. Rhys is a character that I like to hate yet there’s something about him that makes me want to love him. WHAAAAT? I know. Perhaps Book 2 will settle my ambivalent thoughts?

The romance is intense, heart melting, and irresistible. Pardon me for these overused words, dear readers. ACOTAR is the kind of book that puts a brake on your brain’s production of appealing descriptive words. But take note of this: you’ll want more of the romance after you’ve finished ACOTAR. Trust me. 🙂

Sarah J. Maas’ writing is vibrant with life. She created a fantasy world that you’d want to be part of. Plus, Sarah J. Maas has a breathtaking way of describing things, places, people, and emotions. Everything about this book is magical and genuine at the same time! A fantasy novel with sincere emotions never fails to capture my heart. Two thumbs up for ACOTAR!!!

Sparkling with the glamour of timeless magic, A Court of Thorns and Roses is a phenomenal first book in a new series that everyone is sure to love!

 

 

Rating:

5/5 stars